Bellicose

How do you turn humanity off? Is it like setting a placeholder in your brain until it is time to fill a blank space with text that you feel is of substance? Why is it so hard to see mine? Am I that void of meaning to you that it easily applies? I’ve been here all along, speaking up to unchallenged demise, but do you even see me? Even if you don’t see me, am I that delusional to hope that you acknowledge my pain….our pain? I’ve unconsciously assimilated on countless occasions, so much so that code switching became natural but you’ve gone about your daily life never having to be anyone but you. Here I am a stranger to so many spaces because have I even been given the opportunity to give the world me? Watered down everywhere but in my own home, I’ve allowed this. I’ve sat complacently in realms that were void of people like me because that’s been my whole life right? I tip toed upon entry into the workplace because it’s better to have been given something than nothing…right…don’t want to stir the pot too much…right? Fuck that pot. I demand you give me something and I demand you give a fuck. I won’t sit quietly and nibble on scraps because “Who wants to be the angry black girl,” but thats what I am. I’m angry because I’m tired of watching the world not give a fuck and if I have to fight for change I will and I’ll do it passionately. I won’t continue to watch little girls grow up without fathers or watch black men die like slaves on an auction block for the world to see. I won’t continue to watch my beautiful sisters be gunned down in their own homes while they sleep. WE DESERVE HUMANITY and the fact that it even needs to be uttered is enough for me to remain the angry black girl….I’ll be that….but you WILL give me ALL that is mine and I promise you that.

Leave a comment