Internal Doldrums

2eb06ac3101f46addaafed01a4b368ae

 

Life engulfs me. In the blink of an eye down come flurries of work events and family plans and dates that I don’t save. I consider myself a champion, multi-tasking my way through an unorganized mess. Not knowing what the day will bring but ducking and dodging all obstacles. Smiling every bit of the way, so much so, sometimes I don’t even know what I’m smiling for. I just know life could be worse and I could complain but what would that do? I’ve been worse….much worse so everyday is an accomplishment, a prize to be placed on a mantle above a fire place that is too expensive to keep running but what makes this prize so coveted? What if I sink into a bad day, wrap it around myself and just lay in it. Steep in a hot bath of it like a tea bag until I take on it’s flavor. What if I roam the streets lethargically deaf to “smile beautiful,” and sink into myself oblivious to those around me? See life is engulfing me…and sometimes I can’t tell to what extent.

Leave a comment