Bilateral.

Sweet Gemini,

Beloved Monster. You lay in my arms sleeping, short breaths your terror is contained. I remain still as if trying not to disturb it. Red hourglass. You spin conversational webs, intriguingly quick. I lay here with you, night after night, not disclosing to you at day break that you toss and beg in your sleep. Gemini I love you, but not both. I love the you that shows her soul in the sun and whose head rests on my shoulder when her eyes become dull from the reality of the world. I may not understand the other you, I may cringe at her arrival as she robs you of your sensibility, but I remain. Although she beats you down, and you return wounded from a night of soul-less consumption, you always return with heart in hand, no matter how battered. My Gemini.

Leave a Reply

