Release.

Image

We are scared to let go because we don’t want to lose, not realizing that if it takes that much effort to hold on to, then maybe..just maybe it doesn’t want to hold on to us. Let go. You’re holding so tight that it hurts your fingers and your wrists are sore. So tight that you’ve mustered all the energy that you could and you’re wearing thin. So tight that your heart can’t even stand to look because it needs you, so badly, to let go. If I leave you here, watching you struggle to maintain your grasp and I walk away and you fall, will it be on me? Will it be on me because I could have helped you pull but I chose to instead ease the pain that my fingers pleaded with me to? If letting go is all that it takes to prevent a life of holding on to something that is too heavy to be held, unfortunately I know my choice.

Leave a Reply

