Trayvon Martin.

Image

 

Last night I prayed for understanding in a world where love seems to be fleeing. And I woke up ready to pour my heart out through words;

To the family of Trayvon Martin,

I watched as you took on countless hours of reminders of the death of your son. I watched as people tried to portray your son as an aggressor, and I even watched as people told you that maybe you didn’t know your son the way you think you did. I have a little brother, a beautiful, chocolate skinned little brother who I fear for everyday because I know that justice isn’t particularly on our side. Everyone won’t see the beauty in our beautiful young men, but I do. I looked at your son and I saw my brother and my heart took your grief on as my own. The day that a young man’s life can be stolen from him without any type of understanding is more devastating than I could ever know, and this is not and sadly will not be the last time. The reason that I took to my knees last night for understanding is because I am not a mother and I do not know what it is like to lose a child. I can not say that I know what you’re going through, but what I can say is that I won’t forget. I will look at my brother’s face as much as I can and be reminded of your son and ask for God to grant him understanding as he navigates this world. I will ask that God protect him from the horrors of life and the evil of strangers who will never know him the way that I know him. I cried last night not because I didn’t know that sometimes life is unjust, but because a life has been taken that can not be given back due to lack of understanding. I write this letter to you in order to assure you that my heart pours undying love to both you and your family. A quote by Charles Dickens read: “In the little world in which children have their existence, whosoever brings them up, there is nothing so finely perceived and so finely felt as injustice.” I know that speaks truth and it will forever resound in my head.

Leave a Reply

